National Federation of Young Farmers' Clubs

Fun, Learning, and Achievement

17 April 2013


After months of tireless rehearsals and preparation, hundreds of YFC national competition finalists are now set to take to the stage at this year's Annual Convention in Blackpool.

National competition finals will take place in cheerleading, ballroom dancing and drama, as well as the annual Senior Member of the Year competition, from the 4th-5th May.

Saturday’s drama competition looks set to be as hotly contested as usual, with last year’s champions Builth Wells YFC from Brecknock once again making it to the finals and hoping to defend their title with their original drama ‘Seven for a Secret’. However, they will face stiff competition from Nesscliffe YFC in Shropshire performing ‘Stags and Hens’ and Brampton YFC in Cumbria who are performing Michael Morpurgo’s ‘Private Peaceful’.

Sunday will see the finals of both the cheerleading and ballroom dancing competitions, where dancers will be waltzing in the footsteps of Ballroom legends, as they take to the dance floor of the world famous Empress Ballroom.  Eleven couples will take part in the ballroom dancing, after competing in both County and Area rounds to secure their places in the final. A further ten teams will compete for the cheerleading trophy.

The Senior Member of the Year competition will also be held over the weekend, with private interviews on Saturday morning and stage interviews to take place during the drama competition in the afternoon. The winner will be announced at the Annual General Meeting on Sunday. Seven YFC members, one from each of the Federation’s regions, will compete for this coveted trophy.

YFC members and supporters are welcome to attend the competitions, and tickets for the Drama competition can be purchased from NFYFC, costing £10 for adults and £5 for concessions, just contact Margaret Bennett on 02476 857216.

Visit for all the information on Annual Convention 2013 in Blackpool.

Competition Finalists:

Performing Arts (Drama)

  • Builth Wells YFC - Brecknock
  • Nesscliffe YFC - Shropshire
  • Brampton YFC - Cumbria


  •  Long Itchington YFC – Warwickshire                
  • Woolsery YFC – Devon                
  • Bakewell YFC - Derbyshire               
  • Chase YFC - Staffordshire                  
  • Skelton YFC - Cumbria B               
  • St Mabyn YFC – Cornwall               
  • North Beds YFC – Bedfordshire                
  • Kirlinton YFC – Cumbria A  
  • Trefeglwys YFC - Montgomery 
  • Clunderwen YFC - Pembrokeshire           

Ballroom Dancing

  • Penistone YFC – Yorkshire
  • Coleshill YFC - Warwickshire
  • Teme Valley YFC – Herefordshire
  • Abingdon YFC – Oxfordshire
  • Trefeglyws YFC – Montgomery
  • Whitleigh YFC – Devon
  • Maendy YFC – Glamorgan
  • Bakewell YFC – Derbyshire
  • Skelton YFC – Cumbria A
  •  Launceston YFC – Cornwall
  •  Leighton Buzzard YFC– Bedfordshire


Senior Member of the Year 2013

  •  Alice Cook - Bedfordshire    
  •  Toby Lawton - Staffordshire                                   
  •  Lynsey Martin - Kent                                     
  • Kate Wainwright - Derbyshire                        
  • Craig Brough - Cumbria                          
  • Paul Glanvill - Devon
  • Gwennan Davies- Ceredigion


Designed by Kevyn Williams