National Federation of Young Farmers' Clubs

Fun, Learning, and Achievement

04 November 2013

Members elected a new leadership team at the Council meeting in November, who pledged to reach out to more rural young people over the next year to tackle isolation issues in the countryside.

Claire Worden from Lostwithiel YFC, part of the Cornwall Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs (FYFC) was voted in as the new Chairman of Council and Hannah Talbot from Worcestershire FYFC and Chris Manley from Devon FYFC were elected as the two Vice Chairmen. 

During her year as Chairman, Claire plans to head up a campaign about rural isolation to help raise awareness about the unique challenges young people face who live in the countryside and to demonstrate the support Young Farmers’ Clubs can offer.

Claire Worden, National Chairman of NFYFC, said: “I am honoured to represent such an amazing organisation that has given me so much over the last 13 years of my membership.

“YFC has given me skills, confidence and friends for life. We’re not just an organisation for young people involved in farming – we offer support and a social life to all young people in the countryside. I love living in a very rural area of Cornwall, but it comes with its challenges. YFC has helped me to stay connected and feel part of a much bigger community and I want to use my year as Chairman to make more rural young people aware of our Clubs so they can enjoy the same opportunities I did.”

More than 100 members gathered in Coventry over the weekend to pass motions that affect the running of the organisation and to elect the new Council. Stepping down from her post as Chairman from 2012/13, Milly Wastie said her highlights had included taking part in the Harvest Festival at Westminster Abbey and launching the NFYFC's Drive it Home campaign, supported by NFU Mutual.

"I have had an enjoyable but challenging year and have put my heart and soul into the commitment as NFYFC Chairman. My legacy will be that road safety will fit into the YFC club programme once a year and NFYFC will help to put together training and resource materials for clubs to run themed evenings."

As well as the elections, the Council also approved proposals, including the following highlights:

•    The Fancy Dress theme for 2014 Annual Convention is to come dressed as something beginning with Y, F or C
•    The Annual Convention 2015 and 2017 will be held in Torquay
•    A pilot for a new training qualification for club officers is to go ahead in Warwickshire
•    A working party will be established to review NFYFC staffing
•    Anti-bullying and Safeguarding policies to be adopted by the Federation are approved.

NFYFC tweeted throughout the Council meeting to keep all members updated on decisions. Counties and clubs actively retweeted content and got involved throughout the meeting. The most retweeted comment was about the Fancy Dress AGM theme for 2014.

Comments also included:

  • Jonny Williams @jonathansid “Keeping updated with @NFYFC Council sat on the sofa on Twitter! Shame there's not a video feed!!”
  • Helen Reeve @ReeveHelen “Enjoying a quick cuppa whilst catching up with @NFYFC tweets #yfccouncil. Congratulations to newly elected team!#wishiwasthere #yfc”
  • Emily Look @emily_look “All these tweets are making me feel like I'm actually at #yfccouncil @NFYFC!!”

Four steering groups represent members’ views and include: Competitions; Communications, Events and Marketing; Personal Development and Agriculture and Rural Affairs. The National Council is made up of 63 members, associate members and co-options from across England and Wales and is elected by YFC members to represent views.

The full Council report is available to download here. For more information about being part of Council click here. To follow NFYFC on Twitter, visit

Steering Group elections included:
Competitions Chairman:                 David Hamer (Yorkshire)
Vice Chairman:                             Faith Cosgrove (Cambridgeshire)

Communications, Events and Marketing (CEM) Chairman:     David Maidment (Wiltshire)
Vice Chairman:                                                                  Katie Davies (Pembrokeshire)

Personal Development Chairman:                 Nicola Chegwidden (Cornwall)
Vice Chairman:                                          Sean Garrard (Lincolnshire)
Agriculture and Rural Affairs Chairman:        Russell Carrington (Herefordshire)
Vice Chairman                                           Remains open


Designed by Kevyn Williams