National Federation of Young Farmers' Clubs

Fun, Learning, and Achievement

10 January 2011

Cumbria Young Farmers Northern district AGM

Cumbria’s Young Farmers’ members, friends and supporters packed the function room of the Greenhill Hotel, Wigton for the 29th Annual meeting.

President, John Mitchel began the proceedings by talking of his fantastic year in office and his own experiences of being a Young Farmer. “The Young Farmers movement has been my University of Life,” he said. “It has given me the confidence to address you here today as your President.” He went on to talk of the excellent Field Day and competitions he had attended throughout the year and concluded, “Have fun, enjoy, make new friends, be competitive and be proud to be a member of the Young Farmers movement – the best rural youth organisation”

Emma Chester, Chairperson, then went on to give the Annual Report. Many members from the District had gone on to win competitions at Northern Area and National in drama, speaking, crafts and stockjudging. She was pleased to announce another rise in membership with the District having 16 clubs and 781 members.
Alf Harrington of Armstrong Watson’s presented the accounts which showed a slight deficit. The finances remained healthy but concern was expressed at the loss of the Youth Opportunities Fund which in previous years has helped offset the huge cost of the Field Day.

Lisa Bowe gave a vote of thanks to Alf who stepped down after 14 years  as the District’s Treasurer. He was presented with a gift in appreciation of the time he had given up to support YFC. Lindsay Marrs, also of Armstrong Watson was subsequently voted in as his replacement.
The Young Farmers then voted in their officers for 2011. The new President is David Hurst of Aspatria and the new Chairman, David Norman of Carlisle YFC. Vice President is Claire Johnson of Longtown YFC and Vice Chairman is Lesley Pigg of Wigton YFC.

Mr Mitchell then presented the trophies. Those announced on the night were:- Becklees Trophy for Winter Competitions, Carlisle; Willie Whiteford Trophy for best club, Longtown YFC; Alan Bowe Trophy for Young Farmer of the Year, Ian Clemenson, Aspatria YFC.

07 January 2011

Wales YFC question time with the agricultural industry

Wales YFC will hold a question time event with representatives from key organisations within the agricultural industry on Tuesday the 18th of January at the FUW Head Office, Llys Amaeth, Aberystwyth.

A panel made up of Gareth Vaughan FUW President, Stephen James NFU Deputy President and Dai Davies HCC Chairman will be chaired by the Wales YFC Rural Affairs committee chairman Rhys Evans, who explains,
“During the evening I hope that we can ignite lively discussions on the topics which will include Glastir, small and large scale farming, TB and future farming generations. We will also receive presentations from the world renowned energy company Dulas on the work that they undertake and how they can assist those working in the agricultural industry and from Fiona Abberley, the Welsh Assembly Government Young Entrants Support Scheme Business Enabler”.

Anyone is welcome to attend this open event which starts at 7.30pm to see how the panel respond to the questions;
  • Glastir— The road to redemption?
  • Is big beautiful? Small scale vs. Big scale
  • In a TB battle, how do win the war?
  • Inspiring the future generation to make a difference to rural Wales

For further information contact Kay Lewis, Wales YFC Rural Development Officer on 01982 553 502.

05 January 2011

There has been plenty for Pembrokeshire’s young farmers to talk about recently after the annual public speaking competitions took place.

The intermediate brainstrust competition kicked off the season, with Martletwy worthy winners and also picking up the best panel award. In second place were Templeton YFC, with James John winning the award donated in memory of his father Richard for most promising speaker. Judge Malcolm Lewis placed Llysyfran in third place and awarded the best chairman prize to Katie Davies.

Next came the senior after-dinner speaking where the large audiences were treated to two nights of excellent, humorous speeches, giving judge Deryc Rees a very difficult task. Mr Rees commented on the high standard throughout before announcing that South Pembs YFC had won the competition, with Angharad Scourfield named best speaker. In second place were Clynderwen YFC, with Andrew Richards named most promising speaker. Llawhaden YFC were placed third and the other trophies were awarded to Lydia Salmon, Brawdy YFC for best chairman and Gareth Howells, Fishguard YFC, who picked up the best supporting speaker trophy.

Llysyfran were the winners of the junior reading competition, with Sioned Thomas named best reader. Sara Watkins, Eglwyswrw YFC was named best chairman, which helped her club achieve joint second place with Brawdy YFC.

Templeton YFC dominated the junior public speaking competition, winning every trophy on offer. Vincent Morse was named best chairman, his sister Bryony won best proposer of the vote of thanks, and Hannah Phillips was adjudged to be the best speaker. Templeton went on to take the overall prize, with Llysyfran YFC in second place and Fishguard and Llawhaden joint third.

With a different club winning each competition, the race to win the coveted Brownslate trophy as the club with the most points from all sections of the public speaking went down to the wire. Eventually, Llysyfran YFC once again emerged as winners, ahead of South Pembs in second and Llawhaden third.

05 January 2011

This year’s final of the Pembrokeshire YFC knockout quiz in December was a real Christmas cracker, with Brawdy YFC beating Tiers Cross YFC in the final by 59 marks to 57 and a half. With a potential four marks on offer for each correct answer, it was impossible to predict the winners until virtually the final question. Brawdy’s winning team is pictured receiving the trophy from question master Michael Smith.


Designed by Kevyn Williams