National Federation of Young Farmers' Clubs

Fun, Learning, and Achievement

18 February 2010

Young talent showcased at Cumbria drama finals

Cumbria’s county final of the YFC drama competition was held at the Theatre-by-The-Lake, Keswick, with Carlisle, Crook, Drigg, Grayrigg and Sedbergh YFC’s taking part.

Judges Simon Breaks and Emma Smith were impressed with the high standard of entries in the competition, which resulted in only two points between first and third placed entries.

Carlisle YFC took home the trophy for Hallowe’en: A Decameronian Adventure, in which the audience were taken back to Cardurnoch Abbey in 1460 and the antics of Brothers Barnabus, Donatus and Simon.

Grayrigg YFC was second with Alan Ayckbourn’s Best of Friends, and Drigg YFC third with a play set in the Second World War, which featured a cast of 26 young members aged from 10 to 26.

The best actress award went to Lauren Galbraith for her portrayal of Marge in Absent Friends, and Graham Harper, from Sedbergh YFC, won the best actor award as the ferocious Captain Jack Sinclair in The Ghost of Marvin Grange.

Carlisle, Grayrigg and Drigg now go through to the Northern area YFC drama final in Carlisle on 6-7 March. Tickets are available from the Cumbria YFC office on 01768 866550.

17 February 2010

Wales YFC Eisteddfod venue and committee announced

Bro Ddyfi YFC, Montgomeryshire, member Fflur Pughe has been elected chairwoman, and Uwchaled YFC, Clwyd, member Heledd Owen as vice chair of Wales YFC’s Eisteddfod committee for this year.

The 2010 event will be hosted by Montgomery YFC, at the Great Hall, Aberystwyth, on 20 November.

Clwyd Federation will host the 2011 event, and Heledd will spend the year shadowing Fflur and preparing for next year’s Eisteddfod.

17 February 2010

Tickets on sale for Wales YFC English drama competition

The Wales YFC English drama finals will be hosted by Brecknock YFC on 5-6 March.

YFC members from seven counties across Wales will travel to Theatr Brycheiniog, Brecon, to take part in the competition, where the winners will receive the R H Watkins Trophy.

Welsh YFCs have been competing at county level to secure a place in the final, and all the entrants have been continuing to produce and perform plays of the highest calibre, with cast and crew virtually entirely made up of volunteer YFC members.

This year’s final sees the winning clubs from Carmarthenshire, Gwent, Brecknock, Radnor, Montgomery, Pembrokeshire and Glamorgan battling for the award.

The finals begin at 7pm on Friday 5 March, when the Carmarthenshire, Gwent, Brecknock and Radnor teams perform. Montgomery, Pembrokeshire and Glamorgan will be on stage the following evening, also from 7pm.

Tickets for both evenings are available from the Theatr Brycheiniog box office on 01874 611 622.

The Wales YFC English public speaking competition will be held at the Royal Welsh Showground, Builth Wells, from 10am on 6 March.

  1. Click here to download the press release in Welsh.


16 February 2010

Clywd turns up the competition heat on a frosty field day

Clwyd YFC held its annual field day on a cold and frosty morning at Ruthin Farmers’ Market on 30 January.

More than 140 members battled it out in a range of competitions, from nature trails to ATV handling, and a fine display of livestock was on show for the stockjudging competition.

Whitford YFC was the overall winner on the day, with members busy entering six out of the eight competitions. Uwchaled YFC came a close second, with Heledd Owen triumphant in the senior stockjudging competition, beating Aled Hughes, also from Uwchaled, into second place.

Nantglyn YFC had a very successful day, with Ffion Davies winning the junior stockjudging competition. Bro Edeyrnion also won two out of the four competitions entered, and also came a close second with Uwchaled YFC in the fencing competition, where a young team from Llangollen YFC gained first place.

16 February 2010

Herefordshire YFC hedging their bets

Standards remained high as 47 competitors took part in the 2010 Herefordshire YFC hedging competition.

The snow held off to allow members from all around the county to travel to Pontypinna, Vowchurch, where the event, sponsored by B & J Davies of Bucknell, was held.

Longtown YFC claimed victory in three out of four classes and lifted the Agricultural Valuers Association Trophy.

In the recently introduced Aided class, where competitors can gain experience and help from those more experienced in the craft, winners Henry Pursey and Elwyn Powell will be helping ensure the future of this age-old craft.


U26 singles: First, Ben Pritchard (Longtown YFC), second, Josh Christopher (Craswall YFC), third, Oliver Watts (Ledbury YFC).
U26 pairs: First, Mark Lewis and Adam Price (Craswall YFC), second, William Sevenoaks and Fred Pursey (Longtown YFC), third, William Lewis and Daniel Griffiths (Kington YFC).
U21 pairs: First, Elliot Pritchard and Haydyn Lloyd (Longtown YFC), second, Harry Pritchard and Sam Whistance (Longtown YFC), third, Rebecca Watkins and Harvey Powell (Craswall YFC).
U26 aided pairs: First, Henry Pursey and Elwyn Powell (Longtown YFC), second, William Layton and Jonathan Cross (Craswall YFC), third, Mike Green and Adam Perks (Ledbury YFC).
The National Hedgelaying Society’s Cecil Pritchard invited all competitors to take part in the national finals in Hertfordshire later this year.


16 February 2010

High turn-out for day of competitions

More than 100 members of Staffordshire YFC took part in a variety of public speaking competitions this month, including Junior Member of the Year and Senior YFC Ambassador.

Shelly Spooner, Uttoxeter JNFU, and Samantha Wilson, of Eccleshall YFC, were joint winners in the junior section, which required entrants to produce a portfolio giving details of their activities within YFC over the previous 12 months as well as information about school, career aspirations, and activities outside YFC. An informal interview also took place.

The Senior YFC Ambassador competition was won by Stuart Barrow, 22, who is current club chairman of Eccleshall YFC and works as a farmer and agriculture contractor.

  1. Click here for full details of all the winners of the public speaking, reading and Brainstrust competitions.



Designed by Kevyn Williams