National Federation of Young Farmers' Clubs

Fun, Learning, and Achievement

02 March 2010

Historic project wins drama competition for Brecknock YFC

Brecknock YFC brought history to life with their production of Light of the Epynt, which also won them first place in the Wales YFC drama competition.

YFC members from across the county performed the specially commissioned play in Welsh, which recreated events from 70 years ago surrounding the requisitioning of the Epynt as a military training area, which many of their own grandparents had experienced first-hand.

The play is the first part of a wider project to keep memories alive and record history and its impact on the culture, language and heritage of the area.

It’s the first time that Brecknock YFC has competed in the Welsh language drama competition, which was held in Aberdyfi. The federation also received an award for best technical achievement.

Dyfed Watkins was nominated for best actor for his role as Brychan; and Louise Williams and Elin Havard were both nominated for the best actress award for their respective roles as Gwenllian and Gwen.


01 March 2010

First time lucky for Brecknock YFC drama winners

Actors from Brecknock YFC were celebrating in style after taking home a Welsh Royal Crystal rose bowl and the Buddug James Jones Memorial Trophy in the Wales YFC Welsh drama finals after entering the competition for the first time.

Members from Beulah, Builth Wells, Erwood, Llandefalle, Pontfaen, Sennybridge and Troedrhiwdalar YFC took the top prize with their drama Golau’r Epynt.

Llysyfran YFC, Pembrokeshire were second, and Caerwedros YFC, Ceredigion YFC and Llangadog YFC, Carmarthenshire, were placed equal third.

Best actor was Trystan Jones of Caerwedros YFC, Ceredigion, and best actress was Sioned Owens, of Dyffryn Tanat YFC, Maldwyn.

The Paul Elkington Productions Trophy, awarded for technical achievements, went to  Brecknock YFC.


Designed by Kevyn Williams